The Last Song- Review 


Summary: “Seventeen year old Veronica “Ronnie” Miller’s life was turned upside-down when her parents divorced and her father moved from New York City to Wrightsville Beach, North Carolina. Three years later, she remains angry and alientated from her parents, especially her father…until her mother decides it would be in everyone’s best interest if she spent the summer in Wilmington with him. Ronnie’s father, a former concert pianist and teacher, is living a quiet life in the beach town, immersed in creating a work of art that will become the centerpiece of a local church. The tale that unfolds is an unforgettable story of love on many levels–first love, love between parents and children — that demonstrates, as only a Nicholas Sparks novel can, the many ways that love can break our hearts…and heal them.”

As you can see, this book is pretty worn out. Which means it’s passed through many hands before hitting mine. 

I’ve always wanted to read a Nicholas Sparks book, because I’ve heard so many good things about them, but I never could bring myself to open one because of the feelings attached to reading one. 

I finally broke down and rented this from my local library. I had seen the movie before, so in a way I knew what to expect from this book. 

From the very first page I was drawn into this world of an angry teenage girl who rebelled against her parents for reasons that became all too clear. I, myself, was an angry rebellious teen who acted out. I instantly connected with Ronnie, the girl MC, and was easily able to identify with her feelings and thoughts. 

Though she was at times very hateful and mean, I knew what she was feeling deep down. Sparks has a way of articulating those feelings into an emotional word picture with each turn of the page and you find yourself in the scene as if it were happening to you. 

I worked my way through this book, going back and forth between the print copy and an audiobook. Mainly because I didn’t want to stop reading so I took it with me on the go. 

I’m going to definitely be checking out another book of his very soon because I think he is a brilliant writer. 

Will, one of the other MCs, had my heart at the very first hello. He was so unlike ninety percent of book boyfriends that I instantly just fell hard for him. 

There are so many sad parts to this book, I cried and laughed, screamed and laughed some more. I would definitely recommend this book to anyone who wants a nice valuable life lesson inside of a great read. 

It makes you stop and think about the value of not only life, but family and love as well. From cover to cover, this book will have you hooked. 

Find out more about the author here: Nicholas Sparks

Buy the book here: The Last Song Amazon

Leave a Reply

