The Hundred Lies Of Lizzie Lovett- Review


For starters, that’s a beautiful cover. The cover alone was what drew me in to this book. So, I clicked on it and I read the summary. 

“Hawthorn wasn’t trying to insert herself into a missing person’s investigation. Or maybe she was. But that’s only because Lizzie Lovett’s disappearance is the one fascinating mystery their sleepy town has ever had. Bad things don’t happen to popular girls like Lizzie Lovett, and Hawthorn is convinced she’ll turn up at any moment—which means the time for speculation is now. So Hawthorn comes up with her own theory for Lizzie’s disappearance. A theory way too absurd to take seriously…at first. The more Hawthorn talks, the more she believes. And what better way to collect evidence than to immerse herself in Lizzie’s life? Like getting a job at the diner where Lizzie worked and hanging out with Lizzie’s boyfriend. After all, it’s not as if he killed her—or did he?Told with a unique voice that is both hilarious and heart-wrenching, Hawthorn’s quest for proof may uncover the greatest truth is within herself.” 

Instantly, I thought to myself, now that’s a book I want to read. So I requested it and here we are. 

From the very first paragraph, I was drawn into a world of a girl who seems kind of critical about life and uses the disappearance of a girl to be someone else. I mean we have all wanted to be someone else before right? 

I found that I could relate to this poor girl and the many things that seemed to be wrong in her high school life because I was awkward in high school too. Because of that, I kept turning page after page eager for more. 

As I turned each page, I fell more and more in love with this story, the characters, and even the author. (I’ll definitely be checking out her other books.) 

Hawthorn- the MC, has this humor throughout, it’s kind of sarcastic humor but also a bit dark. I laughed so hard with her many witty remarks. I even found myself waiting with bated breath for the next little bit of humor. 

As she goes on this journey to find the missing girl, you begin to realize that this journey isn’t about finding the girl, it’s about her finding herself. Which is beautiful in itself. 

All the way to the end, this was a great read and something I definitely recommend for teens and young adults alike. It’s heartwarming and fun, and it will rip your heart out and then mend it back together again. 

This is a must read. 

Find it on Amazon here: The Hundred Lies of Lizzie Lovett Amazon

Find more information about the author here: Chelsea Sedoti

*I received an Advance Reader Digital Copy of this book from Net Galley in exchange for an honest review. 

Leave a Reply

