Bliss- Review


I am a huge Pretty Little Liars fan. I’ve probably watched the show about seven times now. Shay/Emily is one of my favorite characters on the show, so when I heard about her book I was super excited. 

I follow her on snapchat, instagram, and many other social media outlets just because I think she’s one of the coolest girls in Hollywood. 

The day this book came to my local library, I checked it out. I was super excited and dove into it right away. 

From the very beginning, it had a quirky humor that kept me laughing and turning the pages. 

The story follows three girls, Sophia, Demi, and Leandra through their young adult years. Best friends in high school, they made a pact to always be there for each other and help each other reach their dreams. The problem is, pacts don’t always last. 

Fast forward a few years and the friends have sort of parted ways, and there’s turmoil between them. 

Demi has put all of her efforts into being the perfect girlfriend for her older man only to realize that even the best of intentions don’t always work in your favor. It was pretty comical when she found out he was cheating on her and she literally beat him with raw meat. Gross, yes, but comical indeed. 

Her life kind of goes on a downward spiral as she tries to figure out who she is without him. The best part about her story was the people she met along the way that taught her valuable lessons that I’m sure will stick with her forever. 

Sophia was the girl who had her entire life planned out on a dream board. She was going to storm Hollywood and become a big time actress. But she soon realizes that those dreams are harder than she ever imagined. Her story follows her journey in becoming exactly who she wants to be. There’s ups and downs, and some really sad parts along the way that kind of put a hold on her dreams and threaten to unravel everything she has worked so hard for. 

She learns to trust her friend and open up in order to move on and gain everything she ever wanted. Including a hot new guy. 

Leandra is a selfish snobby little bitch, to put it lightly. She prides herself on having the best things and the most money, all while not having to work a second of her life for it. She jumps from guy to guy, using them for everything she can until she tosses them away for the next best guy. 

Even when she gets a rude awakening, she still doesn’t seem to learn from her mistakes. It was kind of sad that her story didn’t have more of a resolution to it, however I thoroughly enjoyed the book as a whole. 

I laughed, I cried, I screamed, I shouted, I even got angry and threw it across the room once. 

Halfway through the book, I signed onto Amazon and bought it. 

I highly recommend this book as a summer beach read. It’s light and fun while also teaching a solid lesson. 

You can find the book here: Bliss: A Novel Amazon

And also here: Barnes and Noble

*This book was reviewed by me all on my own accord with nothing in exchange. 

Leave a Reply

